2019-2020 MSGC Academic Undergraduate Award Recipients

The University of Maine’s Center for Undergraduate Research (CUGR) and the Maine Space Grant Consortium (MSGC) has announced the 2019-2020 MSGC Research Fellowship Award recipients.

The purpose of the MSGC fellowship and scholarship programs at UMaine is to provide research opportunities to undergraduate and graduate students in aerospace technology, space science, Earth science, human exploration/space development, and other science- or engineering-related fields.

The focus of proposed projects must be aligned with the research priorities of NASA’s Earth and space science strategic enterprises. Selected projects will be awarded $1,100 each.

2019-2020 MSGC Undergraduate Award Recipients

(Student Awarded, Academic Program, Project Title, Faculty Mentor)

  • Oisin Biswas, biomedical engineering, “Surface Contamination Detection Method Using Structural Color Analysis,” advised by Caitlin Howell.
  • Benjamin Chasse, biomedical engineering, “A Nature-Inspired Non-Invasive Compound Detection System,” advised by Caitlin Howell.
  • Chris DeMarchi, mechanical engineering, “Simulating Varying Hydrogen Flow Patterns in Solar Powered Lunar Oxygen Production,” advised by Justin Lapp.
  • Sean Detwiler, mechanical engineering, “Humanoid Robot Simulator of Torso and Arms for the Testing of Wearable Robotics,” advised by Babak Hejrati.
  • David Fitzpatrick, engineering physics, “A Hybrid Thermochemical and PSA Process of Air Separation,” advised by Justin Lapp.
  • Rosamond Hickey, chemical engineering, “Using Patterned Release Paper as Low-Cost, Portable Microdroplet Generators for Advanced Diagnostics,” advised by Caitlin Howell.
  • Abram Karam, civil engineering, “Second-order Derivatives of Nonsmooth Functions with Applications in Engineering,” advised by Peter Stechlinski.
  • Li Mackenzie Ladd, mechanical engineering, “Integrating Electrical Components in Compliant Mechanics,” advised by Aaron Joy.
  • Lindsey Lagerstrom, psychology, “Practicing Telemental Health Care in Maine,” advised by Fayeza Ahmed.
  • Henry Laurita, zoology, “Patch, Pattern and Preference — The Power of Shape to Modify Honeybee Foraging Behavior,” advised by Julia McGuire.
  • Hua Lin, engineering physics, “Silicon-Carbide Nanowires and Thin Films for Sensing Strain and Pressure in Harsh Environments,” advised by Sheila Edalatpour.
  • Jacob Marchio, engineering physics, “Design and Construction of a Computer Controlled Astronomical Spectropolarimeter,” advised by Sam Hess.
  • Sahvannah Michaud, psychology, “Emerging Neuroimaging Technology in Category Learning Research,” advised by Shawn Ell.
  • Nicholas Soucy, physics, “THED: Thermal Hand Experience Device,” advised by Nimesha Ranasinghe.
  • Amelia St. John, microbiology, “Investigating the Role of Group B Streptococcus Prophages on Bacterial Fitness and Virulence,” advised by Melody Neely.
  • Tom Szewczyk, biology, “Lymphatic System as a Conduit for Immune Cells and Lipid Communication in Fat,” advised by Kristy Townsend.
  • Dylan Taplin, biology, “The Role of Bone Morphogenetic Proteins on Lipid and Glucose Sensing in Tanycytes,” advised by Kristy Townsend.
  • Deven Teisl, ecology and environmental sciences, “Tapping the Sweet Spot — Predicting the Suitability of a Woodlot’s Potential to Transition into a Productive Sugarbush in Maine,” advised by Jessica Leahy.
  • Basel White, biomedical engineering, “The Applications of Machine Learning to the Tissue Segmentation of Grayscale Mammograms,” advised by Andre Khalil.