2017 UMaine Student Symposium (UMSS) Award Recipients

1st Place:

  • Biomedical Sciences: Sarai Smith, RNA-seq Analysis of Cluster E Phage Ukulele, advised by Sally Molloy (Top Overall Winner)
  • Allied Health: Katarina Querfurth, Paige LeBlond, Jenna Nichols, Belinda Kirkpatrick, For Hospitalized In-patients, What Evidence-based Interventions will Reduce the Feelings of Stress, Anxiety and/or Fear Brought on by the Hospital Environment, advised by Patricia Poirier
  • Arts: Meaghan Byrnes, Eric Morrison, Austin Haughton, Jacob Hall, Liam Reading, iSWOOP, advised by Michael Scott
  • Education: Toni Kaplan, Development of a Dynamic Multisensory Interface to Provide Accessible Biological Diagrams for Blind and Low Vision Students, advised by Nick Giudice
  • Engineering and Information Science: William Breeding, Homogenous Integration of Iron Oxide Nanoparticles into Cellulose Nanofibers, advised by Michael Mason
  • Natural Sciences: Christian Zwirner, Defensive Mechanisms of Epidermal Growth Factor Receptor in Host Response to Candida albicans Infection, advised by Robert Wheeler
  • Physical Sciences: Samuel Borer, Characterizing Liquid Argon Time Projection Chambers for Neutrino Physics, advised by Saima Farooq
  • Social Sciences: Angelina Iannazzi, Longitudinal Imagined Interactions Between Christians and Atheists, advised by Jordan LaBouff
  • Innovation Award: William Breeding, Banton Heithoff, Madeline Mazjanis and Amber Boutiette (undergraduate), Pediatric Respiratory Simulation, advised by Caitlin Howell
  • IEEE Award: Armando Ayes (undergraduate), Temperature Compensated Langasite Surface Acoustic Wave Devices for High Temperature Operation, advised by Mauricio da Cunha